Winless NASCAR drivers got a glimmer of hope of making the playoffs last week in Atlanta after Kurt Busch became just the 12th race winner of the 2021 season — and first first-time winner since Chase Elliott won the Circuit of the Americas on May 23.

The Foxwoods Resort Casino 301 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway presents the opportunity for a 13th unique winner to earn what should be an automatic berth in the playoffs; but NASCAR hasn’t seen consecutive first-time winners this season since Brad Keselowski and Kyle Busch won at Talladega and Kansas on April 25 and May 2, respectively.

That said, there are five more races, Sunday’s included, to fill out four more winners for the 16-car playoffs. Every winless driver from here on out will have even greater pressure to make the playoffs, with time dwindling before the start of the postseason.

Denny Hamlin is the likeliest among that bunch to earn his first win on Sunday. The regular-season points leader — he has 10 points more than four-time winner Kyle Larson — still hasn’t won a race this season, despite 11 top-five finishes and 14 in the top 10. But he has enjoyed success at the NHMS, including three wins and six runner-up finishes.

Sporting News is tracking live updates and lap-by-lap highlights from NASCAR’s race at New Hampshire on Sunday. Follow for complete results from the 301-lap, 318-mile Foxwoods Resort Casino 301.

MORE: Watch today’s NASCAR race live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

NASCAR at New Hampshire live updates, highlights from Foxwoods Resort Casino 301

All times Eastern

3:23 p.m.: And there’s the green flag!

3:15 p.m.: Reminder: Stage 1 is 75 laps, Stage 2 is 110 laps (ending at Lap 185) and the final stage is 116 laps, ending on Lap 301.

3:11 p.m.: The cutest “Start your engines” ever?

2:26 p.m: For anyone curious about the lobster trophy at NHMS:

2:24 p.m.: Uh-oh. Michael McDowell, Quin Houff, Corey LaJoie, Ryan Preece and BJ McLeod are all sent to the rear of the starting lineup for failing pre-race inspections.

NASCAR start time today

  • Time: 3 p.m. ET (TV time)
  • TV channel: NBCSN (TSN in Canada)
  • Live stream: | fuboTV (7-day free trial)

The green flag for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway is scheduled to drop at 3:18 p.m. ET.

NBCSN’s programming will begin at 2:30 p.m. with the “Countdown to Green” prerace show, followed by race coverage beginning at 3 p.m. ET. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jeff Burton and Steve Letarte will call the race and provide analysis. Marty Snider and Dillon Welch will be the pit reporters.

NASCAR starting lineup at New Hampshire

Here is the complete starting lineup for Sunday’s race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, the Foxwoods Casino Resort 301.

Start pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
2 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
3 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
4 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
5 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
6 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
7 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
8 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
9 Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
10 Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
11 Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske
12 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
13 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
14 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
15 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
16 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
17 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
18 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
19 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
20 Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
21 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
22 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
23 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
24 Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
25 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
26 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
27 Anthony Alfredo 38 Front Row Motorsports
28 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
29 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
30 Justin Haley 77 Spire Motorsports
31 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing Team
32 BJ McLeod 78 Live Fast Motorsports
33 Garrett Smithley 53 Rick Ware Racing
34 Cody Ware 51 Petty Ware Racing
35 Josh Bilicki 52 Rick Ware Racing
36 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing
37 James Davison 15 Rick Ware Racing

Source link