ATP Masters 1000, which debuted as a series in 1990, features the best men’s tennis players at nine top tournaments on the ATP Tour calendar. Champions at Masters 1000 events earn 1,000 ATP Rankings points.

Two first-time Masters 1000 champion were crowned to start the 2021 series: Hubert Hurkacz in Miami and Stefanos Tsitsipas in Monte-Carlo. Alexander Zverev then claimed his fourth title at this level by defeating first-time Masters 1000 finalist Matteo Berrettini in Madrid. A week later, Rafael Nadal drew level with Novak Djokovic atop the Masters 1000 title leaders list by defeating the World No. 1 in the Rome final. 

Daniil Medvedev became the fifth different champion in as many Masters 1000 tournaments this season with his triumph in Toronto. The Russian will now look to become the first player since Nadal in 2013 – and the fifth overall since 1990 – to claim the Canadian and Cincinnati ATP Masters 1000 titles back-to-back. 

REIGNING CHAMPIONS… Five different champions have won the first five ATP Masters 1000 tournaments of 2021: Hubert Hurkacz, Stefanos Tsitsipas, Alexander Zverev, Rafael Nadal and Daniil Medvedev. The series will continue with the Western & Southern Open, in the lead to the US Open.

Due to the impact of COVID-19, the ATP Tour calendar featured three Masters 1000 events in 2020. Djokovic won the first two — the Western & Southern Open in August and the Internazionali BNL d’Italia in September — and Daniil Medvedev concluded the series with the Rolex Paris Masters title.  

There have been 70 different champions crowned since the Masters 1000 series began in 1990. Only six players have won more than 10 Masters 1000 titles. With his victory over World No. 1 and defending champion Novak Djokovic in the 2021 Internazionali BNL d’Italia final, Rafael Nadal tied the Serbian’s record mark of 36 ATP Masters 1000 titles.

 Rafael Nadal leads Roger Federer in the battle among Masters 1000 match win leaders, with the Spaniard pulling ahead at the 2019 Rolex Paris Masters. Nadal first broke Federer’s long-held record in August 2019, with his 379th Masters 1000 victory at this elite level during the Coupe Rogers. Stan Wawrinka entered the Top 10 leaderboard after reaching the third round at the 2019 BNP Paribas Open, overtaking Tommy Haas (144-107 match record).


GREATEST CHAMPIONS (since 1990)… Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan dominate the titles leaderboard for the Masters 1000 tournaments.

City Singles Doubles
Indian Wells Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer (5) Mark Knowles, Daniel Nestor (4)
Miami Andre Agassi, Novak Djokovic (6) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (6)
Monte-Carlo Rafael Nadal (11)  Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (6) 
Madrid Rafael Nadal (5) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, Daniel Nestor (5)
Rome Rafael Nadal (10) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (4)
Canada Rafael Nadal (5) Mahesh Bhupathi, Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (5) 
Cincinnati  Roger Federer (7)  Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, Daniel Nestor (5)
Shanghai  Novak Djokovic (4) Marcelo Melo (3)
Paris Novak Djokovic (5) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (4)

The “Sunshine Double”, winning Indian Wells and Miami in the same season, has been achieved 12 different times since the series began in 1990, most recently by Roger Federer in 2017. The fall Masters 1000 sweep has been completed five times, twice by Novak Djokovic, while four players have won Canada and Cincinnati back-to-back. Rafael Nadal, the most recent player to accomplish the North American summer sweep, is also the only one to have captured all three clay Masters 1000 titles consecutively. 

ATP Masters 1000 Sunshine Double (Indian Wells, Miami)
2017: Roger Federer
2016: Novak Djokovic
2015: Novak Djokovic
2014: Novak Djokovic
2011: Novak Djokovic
2006: Roger Federer
2005: Roger Federer
2001: Andre Agassi
1998: Marcelo Rios
1994: Pete Sampras
1992: Michael Chang
1991: Jim Courier

ATP Masters 1000 Spring Sweep (Clay)
2010: Rafael Nadal (Monte-Carlo, Rome, Madrid)

ATP Masters 1000 Summer Sweep
2013: Rafael Nadal (Montreal, Cincinnati)
2003: Andy Roddick (Montreal, Cincinnati)
1998: Patrick Rafter (Toronto, Cincinnati)
1995: Andre Agassi (Montreal, Cincinnati)

ATP Masters 1000 Fall Sweep
2016: Andy Murray (Shanghai, Paris)
2015: Novak Djokovic (Shanghai, Paris)
2013: Novak Djokovic (Shanghai, Paris)
2007: David Nalbandian (Madrid, Paris)
2004: Marat Safin (Madrid, Paris)

BIG FOUR DOMINANCE… From 2008 Madrid through 2017 Madrid, Novak Djokovic (26), Rafael Nadal (18), Andy Murray (13) and Roger Federer (12) combined to capture 69 of the 78 Masters 1000 titles (88.5%). During that stretch, only six other players won their first Masters 1000 title:
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (2008 Paris)
Ivan Ljubicic (2010 Indian Wells)
Robin Soderling (2010 Paris)
David Ferrer (2012 Paris)
Stan Wawrinka (2014 Monte-Carlo)
Marin Cilic (2016 Cincinnati). 

In comparison, in the 21 series events from 2017 Rome to 2019 Cincinnati, nine players won their first Masters 1000 title:
Alexander Zverev (2017 Rome)
Grigor Dimitrov (2017 Cincinnati)
Jack Sock (2017 Paris)
Juan Martin del Potro (2018 Indian Wells)
John Isner (2018 Miami)
Karen Khachanov (2018 Paris)
Dominic Thiem (2019 Indian Wells)
Fabio Fognini (2019 Monte-Carlo)
Daniil Medvedev (2019 Cincinnati)

Source link