The IPL 2022 retention took place on November 30 as the teams headed to the auction with handsome purse values for the mega-event, IPL 2022. IPL 2022 will be a mega event as a total of 10 teams will be participating in the coming edition of the Indian Premier League. Lucknow and Ahmedabad are the two new franchises that have been added to the IPL setup.

As far as the retentions were concerned, certain big names were left out of their respective sides who might cause a bidding war in the IPL 2022 auction. The list includes the illustrious names of KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, David Warner, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Lockie Ferguson, Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer and many more.

KL Rahul, Punjab Kings
KL Rahul. (Photo: BCCI)

IPL 2022 Retention Rules

Each of the 10 teams that will be a part of the IPL 2022 auction, has been given a pool of INR 90 Crores to spend on their retention and purchase of players. The teams that will be retaining four players in the IPL Retention 2022 will have 42 crores deducted from their purse and each team will have to name their players in the order of the salary purse.

Deductions for 4 Players INR 42 Cr
Player 1 INR 16 Cr
Player 2 INR 12 Cr
Player 3 INR 8 Cr
Player 4 INR 6 Cr


Deduction for 3 Players INR 33 Cr
Player 1 INR 15 Cr
Player 2 INR 11 Cr
Player 3 INR 7 Cr


Deductions for 2 Players INR 24 Cr
Player 1 INR 14 Cr
Player 2 INR 10 Cr


Deduction for 1 Player INR 14 Cr

IPL 2022 Retention List, Complete List Of Players Retained By All Franchises

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)– Ravindra Jadeja (16 cr), MS Dhoni (12 cr), Moeen Ali (8cr), and Ruturaj Gaikwad (6cr)

Delhi Capitals (DC)– Rishabh Pant (16cr), Axar Patel (9cr), Prithvi Shaw (7.5cr),  and Anrich Nortje (6.5cr)

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)– Andre Russell (12cr), Venkatesh Iyer (8cr), Varun Chakravarthy (8cr), and Sunil Narine (6cr)

Mumbai Indians (MI)– Rohit Sharma (16cr), Jasprit Bumrah (12cr), Suryakumar Yadav (8cr), and Kieron Pollard (6cr)

Punjab Kings (PBKS)– Mayank Agarwal (14cr), and Arshdeep Singh (4cr)

Rajasthan Royals (RR)– Sanju Samson (14cr), Jos Buttler (10cr), and Yashasvi Jaiswal (4cr)

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)– Virat Kohli (15cr), Glenn Maxwell (11cr), and Mohammed Siraj (7cr).

SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH)– Kane Williamson (14cr), Umran Malik (4cr) and Abdul Samad (4cr).

Remaining Purse Values Of All 8 IPL Teams After IPL 2022 Retention

PBKS – 72 Cr

SRH – 68 Cr

RR – 62 Cr

RCB – 57 Cr

MI – 48 Cr

CSK – 48 Cr

KKR – 48 Cr

DC – 47.5 Cr

Source link