Wales star Josh Adams will miss the visit of Scotland this weekend due to a calf problem.

The 26-year-old, who is one of Wales’ most potent attacking weapons, was deployed out of position at centre last weekend in the defeat to Ireland.

It was not his finest performance and he will have been keen to put things right, but he misses the second match of Wales’ Six Nations campaign.

Read more: The verdict on Wales team as star returns with a point to prove after a year in the cold

Read more: The making of Dan Biggar in the words of the coaches who shaped him

Elsewhere, there is a debut for openside flanker and former Wales Under-20s skipper Jac Morgan, who has been in impressive form for the Ospreys this season.

His presence in the No. 7 jersey sees Taine Basham, Wales’ shining light in Dublin, move over to blindside flanker and Ross Moriarty moves up from the bench to start at No. 8.

The front five is unchanged, meaning the front row of Wyn Jones, Ryan Elias and Tomas Francis stay in situ, backed up by vice-captain Adam Beard and Will Rowlands in the second row.

Tomos Williams partners Dan Biggar at half-back, with the fly-half and captain making his 100th Test appearance when including Lions Test outings.

Adams’ absence means Owen Watkin moves up to the starting side, partnering Nick Tompkins in midfield.

Out wide, Alex Cuthbert starts following the end of his ban for a dangerous tackle in the Ospreys’ European match against Racing 92. He joins Liam Williams and Louis Rees-Zammit in the back three, meaning Johnny McNicholl misses out.

Jonathan Davies will earn his 100th Test appearance if he comes off the bench.

As for the visitors, Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has made five changes to the side which beat England 20-17 at Murrayfield.

The front row has been completely changed, with Pierre Schoeman and WP Nel starting alongside hooker Stuart McInally while Zander Fagerson, George Turner and Rory Sutherland are all named on the bench.

Sam Skinner starts in the back row in place of the injured Jamie Ritchie, who has had surgery on a hamstring injury and is ruled out for the rest of the Six Nations.

Sione Tuipulotu will start at inside centre to make his third Scotland appearance, marking the only change in the backline.

The replacements bench is completed by Magnus Bradbury, Rory Darge – who will make his debut if he comes on – Ben White, Blair Kinghorn and Cameron Redpath.

Wales: 15. Liam Williams, 14. Alex Cuthbert, 13. Owen Watkin, 12. Nick Tompkins, 11. Louis Rees-Zammit, 10. Dan Biggar (capt), 9. Tomos Williams, 1. Wyn Jones, 2. Ryan Elias, 3. Tomas Francis, 4. Will Rowlands, 5. Adam Beard, 6. Taine Basham, 7. Jac Morgan, 8. Ross Moriarty.

Reps: 16. Dewi Lake, 17. Gareth Thomas, 18. Dillon Lewis, 19. Seb Davies, 20. Aaron Wainwright, 21. Gareth Davies, 22. Callum Sheedy, 23. Jonathan Davies.

Scotland: 15. Stuart Hogg (capt), 14. Darcy Graham, 13. Chris Harris, 12. Sione Tuipulotu, 11. Duhan van der Merwe, 10. Finn Russell, 9. Ali Price, 1. Pierre Schoeman, 2. Stuart McInally, 3. WP Nel, 4. Jonny Gray, 5. Grant Gilchrist, 6. Sam Skinner, 7. Hamish Watson, 8. Matt Fagerson.

Replacements: 16. George Turner, 17. Rory Sutherland, 18. Zander Fagerson, 19. Magnus Bradbury, 20. Rory Darge, 21. Ben White, 22. Blair Kinghorn, 23. Cameron Redpath.

  • To get the latest Six Nations headlines emailed straight to your inbox for free every day, just sign up to our rugby newsletter here.

Source link